Patient Reviews

Reviews for Reconstructive Procedures Near Sarasota, FL

Filter14 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 19, 2020

My experience with Dr Derby and SPS was nothing short of top shelf went there for a melanoma on my face corner of the eye into the temple Dr. Derby takes his time to explain and is very thorough as for the surgery and results Excellent Dr. Derby is definitely a skilled surgeon I would recommend him to anyone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 19, 2020

My experience with Dr Derby and SPS was nothing short of top shelf went there for a melanoma on my face corner of the eye into the temple Dr. Derby takes his time to explain and is very thorough as for the surgery and results Excellent Dr. Derby is definitely a skilled surgeon I would recommend him to anyone More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 03, 2020

My oncologist saved my life and Dr Derby GAVE ME MY LIFE BACK. In the summer of 2017 I was diagnosed with an aggressive form of breast cancer. I went through all of the recommended treatments as I wanted my best shot at living-for a long time. I have a brilliant oncologist who I owe my life to. Meantime, I am the poster child for “all the bad stories you heard about chemo and especially the radiation effects-I got it!” That was a long and winding road. I felt very hopeless for the 2 years post radiation as I had Severe swelling and pain in my right breast and rib cage that most people said I would have to live with forever. Enter Dr Derby. He gave me hope when I felt hopeless. I have never looked or felt better than I do now and I’m 2 months post op and feel beyond happy again! Not only is he the most skilled and amazing surgeon I’ve ever known but he is a damn nice guy who truly cares about his patients. He is the BEST and I am totally grateful To him. He changed my life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 03, 2020

My oncologist saved my life and Dr Derby GAVE ME MY LIFE BACK. In the summer of 2017 I was diagnosed with an aggressive form of breast cancer. I went through all of the recommended treatments as I wanted my best shot at living-for a long time. I have a brilliant oncologist who I owe my life to. Meantime, I am the poster child for “all the bad stories you heard about chemo and especially the radiation effects-I got it!” That was a long and winding road. I felt very hopeless for the 2 years post radiation as I had Severe swelling and pain in my right breast and rib cage that most people said I would have to live with forever. Enter Dr Derby. He gave me hope when I felt hopeless. I have never looked or felt better than I do now and I’m 2 months post op and feel beyond happy again! Not only is he the most skilled and amazing surgeon I’ve ever known but he is a damn nice guy who truly cares about his patients. He is the BEST and I am totally grateful To him. He changed my life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 06, 2019

I would recommend Dr. Brian Derby highly. He performed reconstructive surgery on my cheek for malignant melanoma. He and his skilled nurses set me at ease, as I had never been sedated. He fully explained what was to be done with this procedure. Follow up care was excellent, and I have hardly any scar! Precision job!Four years later, Dr. Derby, removed a melanoma from my scalp. Not satisfied with the pathology report, he removed more margins of skin which was successful! I place full trust in him, as a highly skilled surgeon with an excellent “bedside” manner which is so important! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 07, 2019

I met Dr. Derby when I was going through a very emotional time having learned I had breast cancer. After my mastectomy, Dr. Derby's soothing manner leading up to reconstruction surgery helped me get through my procedures. I especially liked that he explained everything he was going to do and always made time for my questions as well as my husband's. I love his personality as well as his professional skills. I look and feel so much better now that my surgeries are over. I was very lucky to have found Dr. Derby and highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 19, 2018

I highly recommend Dr. Brian Derby! He is an expert Plastic Surgeon. In addition, Dr. Derby is one of few that performs breast reconstruction. Plus he is professional, mindful and kind. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 19, 2018

I highly recommend Dr. Brian Derby! He is an expert Plastic Surgeon. In addition, Dr. Derby is one of few that performs breast reconstruction. Plus he is professional, mindful and kind. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 04, 2018

I am a bilateral breast cancer survivor having had a mastectomy on each side, 16 yrs apart. The right was a tram flap reconstruction & the left a failed implant reconstruction leaving me with a large ugly scar. Dr. Derby assured me that he would create a left breast and he would also make the reconstructed breast match, The transformation is so amazing, the experience remarkably positive & I am extremely happy. Dr. Derby builds trust, is respectful & provides continual, amazing personal care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 27, 2018

I thought I was having the worse day of my life when a neighbor's dog bit off a huge chunk of my upper lip. Instead, it turned out to be a great day. Dr Derby saw me immediately and repaired the defect so beautifully that the scar is hardly noticeable 6 weeks later. Plus, he is an awesome person - super sweet, humble, easy to talk to . . . off the charts winner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 24, 2017

The whole team is professional and personal. Dr Derby takes the time to explain step by step expectations. You never feel rushed. Anxiety was high on outcome of removing cancer from any part of face, you cannot even tell it was done. Dr Derby personally called to be sure the patient was comfortable and doing well once home. I would highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 11, 2017

Dr. Derby treated me like his father. He removed a scar on the top of my ear that was a result of Moh's surgery . He even played my favorite genre of music for me while doing the surgery. You have to look closely to even see that there was anything removed and this was only done 6 weeks ago. The staff was helpful in getting my insurance in order. The nurses were very kind and skilled as well . Thanks so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 01, 2017

Dr. Derby is an excellent surgeon and someone I'd highly recommend. I had a bad fall and had an open skin flap across my forehead. I'm in awe of the job he did and so are my nursing friends. If you could see the before and after pictures, you'd be as impressed. In addition to his outstanding surgical skills, he is a very kind and compassionate physician. He was called into the ER at 4am on Memorial Day and was so gracious. I've worked in nursing for over 30yrs and he was wonderful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G. .  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 12, 2017

DR. Derby is a wonderful Dr. Did surgery on my eye lid that was pulling down. Did a great job. I would recommend him to anyone. Had a wonderful staff everyone was really nice. If I have to have anymore surgery he will be the one to do it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 14, 2017

I met Dr. Derby thru an emergency incident. I had split my lip wide open and it required 7-8 stitches. The results are so good that no one would know that I had injured my lip. I was so impressed with him that I asked him if he could possibly help me out with corrective surgery with my eyes. Previously, I had eyelid surgery 10 years ago. He suggested having a brow lift procedure. I had the best care before, during, and after the procedure. Dr. Derby is a highly skilled and talented surgeon. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13949001
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 02, 2017

Dr. Derby repaired the upper tip of my nose that was scraped away by Moh's surgery. I was concerned about the wound repair surgery and how it would affect my appearance. Dr. Derby was extremely caring throughout the surgery and healing process. He made me feel that I was his most important patient. His skilled hands repaired a nose that looked better than before. I am very thankful to Dr. Derby and with full confidence, I would recommend him to anyone. I was fortunate to experience his talent. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13836713
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 11, 2016

About a year ago, I had extensive melanoma surgery on the right cheek, and the dermatologist who performed the Mohs surgery referred me to Dr. Brian Derby. The reconstructive surgery went very well and healed rapidly. Today, because of Dr. Derby's expertise, my face shows no scarring. God bless you, Dr. Derby! I would certainly recommend family and friends to this excellent, professional and personable physician. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13230658
Review from F.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 03, 2016

I was treated by Dr. Derby for an invasive skin cancer. Thanks to his surgical skill and treatment plan, the healing process was brought to a successful conclusion. From the very start, Dr. Derby made me feel very comfortable and never failed to respond to any concerns or questions that I had. A big positive for me was his engaging, affable personality. I would also like to commend Dr. Derby's staff for their efficient and caring attention. Highly recommend. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12628317
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 08, 2016

Dr. Derby's first priority was making me feel at ease. He listened to me, checked the wound that I needed fixed because it would not close and explained step by step his procedure. During surgery under local anesthetic he constantly told me what was going on, check to make sure there was no pain and even called me that evening and the next day to check on me. I've had two follow up visits and I'm extremely pleased. I look forward to seeing him in about a year for another procedure. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10943341
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 08, 2016

I recently had a wonderful experience with Dr. Derby and his staff. My dermatologist had discovered a melanoma on my upper arm and it needed to be removed. Dr. Derby was able to accommodate me in his schedule. His manner is very professional, yet warm and friendly. He put me at ease and gave me great confidence. The procedure was painless and very thorough, with excellent results. Dr. Derby and his staff exceeded my expectations, and I have already recommended him to friends and family. More

The board-certified plastic surgeons of Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center, Dr. Braun Graham, Dr. David Mobley, Dr. Scott Engel, and Dr. Brian Derby, offer a comprehensive range of cosmetic plastic surgery procedures. All information subject to change. Images may contain models. Individual results may vary. Individual results are not guaranteed.