Patient Reviews

Reviews for Sarasota, FL Plastic Surgeon Dr. Brian M. Derby Tummy Tuck Procedures

Filter35 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from H.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 12, 2021

Dr. Derby is an artist! I’m 8 weeks post-op from a tummy tuck and arm skin reduction. I’ve dropped 2 pant sizes in 6 weeks and with more recovery ahead, I expect even more results. Dr. Derby is so supportive, honest, and funny. He made this big procedure a lot easier. Thank you for revealing all my hard work of nutrition and training the last 18 months! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 23, 2020

Simply - HE'S THE BEST! - I can count the times that I’ve written a review on one hand...always a little skeptical of on-line reviews - but when I did my homework and read all of the sincere reviews of Dr. Derby (which really helped in my own decision process)....I knew I had to add to the 'fan base'... I am in my early 60's and had loose excess fat around my middle and thighs from weight gain/loss over and over. It was so disappointing to know that, no matter how hard I would exercise, this loose skin was not going to change. Surgery was going to be the only answer.Dr. Derby was highly recommended to me by family friends. He went beyond my expectations from start to finish. At our first meeting, he totally put me at ease – the examination, the evaluation, explaining the procedures - and ensuring I had realistic expectations. He took all the time needed to answer my questions. We determined that he could perform a tummy tuck and thigh reduction at one time (can't list both in the treatment line).I did some more research and EVERYONE – professionals and patients – everyone praised his surgery skills, his concern for his patients and his high standards – and also that he is a wonderful person and family man. Decision made, we met again to review and finalize – where he patiently answered my questions (again). His staff was wonderful and I never felt uncomfortable at any time. My surgery was approximately 8 hours (expected). Having the on-site surgery center was a bonus – more personalized, ultra-professional - I felt so safe and cared for. The entire post-surgery recovery time was better than anything I expected. Returning the next day for a post-op examination, I was amazed at how good I felt. My stitches have flattened and are already smooth to the touch; my lymphatic masseuse (who regularly services plastic surgery patients and has seen many, many surgery incisions) was amazed at the incision stitching – and said told me that Dr. Derby was the best at what he does. Two weeks post surgery I felt good, four weeks out felt great, and now, over three months, I feel fabulous. It has truly been a life changing experience. I cannot say enough good things about Dr. Derby – and his staff, especially Tiffany, were just superb!I no longer spend time trying to cover up rolls of loose fat or feeling self-conscious in public. It is wonderful to just live each day, happy in my body – all thanks to Dr. Derby. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 08, 2020

My Life Changed Because of my Tummy Tuck - My stomach had been destroyed by going through the three pregnancies of my children. From the first consultation until the recovery process of my tummy tuck and breast lift, Dr Derby was incredible. He gave me realistic results to look forward to, he took his time explaining things and he had incredible bedside manner. The tummy tuck has transformed my life. I have regained my confidence. My body is similar to what it used to be before my pregnancies. I would go through all of this again if it meant I had these results. Dr Derby changed my life and I would recommend him if you are looking to gain your confidence back. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 27, 2021

Not enough room to fully explain how wonderful Dr. Derby and his staff are. Breast lift and fleur-de-lis abdominoplasty procedures. In short, 6 months out, my results have wildly exceeded anything I could have imagined. I am 58 years old, but my mind and body are 22 again. Dr. Derby is truly and artist. No other word will suffice. These procedures have changed my life, and my self-esteem. I like the way I look again and don’t hide behind my clothing. I have thanked Dr. Derby often for helping me complete my journey, and for just being the wonderful person and extremely talented surgeon that he is. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 27, 2021

Best Decision I Have Ever Made - I first met Dr. Derby at a plastic surgery workshop 6 months into my weight loss journey with Dr. Roa at Sarasota Memorial Bariatric Clinic. I was not ready for surgery, but tucked away the information for the future. What stuck with me the most from the workshop was Dr. Derby himself; his wonderful, approachable, sharp personality. I knew that when the time came, he would be my choice for my plastic surgeon.Fast forward 3 years and I decided that time was right. Having lost 118 pounds and meeting my goal, I was thrilled with my new, smaller body, however, the result of having 2 children and then gaining massive weight took a toll on my skin. I am not one of the fortunate ones that has skin that stretches and retracts. I had lived with giant stretch marks, droopy, stretches breast tissue and my stomach lying in my lap since giving birth. Massive weight gain just accentuated the problem. Although I could tuck everything into my clothing, standing in front of the mirror in my birthday suit was still rather disappointing because I did not feel thin with all the sagging skin.I scheduled my consult appointment with Dr. Derby to discuss my options and from the beginning of the appointment I knew I had made the right choice in surgeons. We had instant rapport and clicked. Most importantly we laughed and I felt totally at ease discussing our plan of action. We decided on two procedures; a breast lift with tissue removal, and a fleur del les abdominoplasty (tummy tuck). Dr. Derby thoroughly explained the procedures, the length of the surgery and answered all my questions. I never felt rushed, in fact, Dr. Derby makes you feel like you are his only patient!Surgery day came and I asked Dr. Derby to take photos and videos for me, and he did. I had expected some instant gratification following surgery and that happened. Even at two weeks post-op I couldn’t believe the transformation. I had 7lbs of skin removed from my abdomen and for the first time in 36 years my abdomen was FLAT. My breast are ”nice, high, and perky”, even better than before having babies; they never looked this great. I was thrilled at my progress at the two week mark, not even able to fathom that it would get better! It does, swelling keeps coming down…amazing! I now look in the mirror and say “I remember her”. In short, 6 months out, my results have wildly exceeded anything I could have imagined. I am 58 years old, but my mind and body are 22 again. Dr. Derby is truly and artist. No other word will suffice. These procedures have changed my life, and my self-esteem. I like the way I look again and don’t hide behind my clothing. I have thanked Dr. Derby often for helping me complete my journey, and for just being the wonderful person and extremely talented surgeon that he is.Obviously I encourage everyone, but especially those who have completed their weight loss journey, to put yourself in Dr. Derby’s most capable hands. He is the “icing on the cake” to complete your already awesome accomplishment. You are worth it, invest in yourself. You will never regret it. Dr. Derby is the one to make it happen. Love him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 13, 2021

This is the Place to Go !!! - I had tummy tuck and liposuction , Dr Derby did a fantastic job , results are better than I expected and I feel so confident . The entire office was supportive snd always so helpful snd caring. I highly recommend them !!! Dr. Derby is the best !!! Thank you for giving me back my confidence . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 12, 2021

Dr. Derby is an artist! I’m 8 weeks post-op from a tummy tuck and arm skin reduction. I’ve dropped 2 pant sizes in 6 weeks and with more recovery ahead, I expect even more results. Dr. Derby is so supportive, honest, and funny. He made this big procedure a lot easier. Thank you for revealing all my hard work of nutrition and training the last 18 months! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 04, 2019

3 Reasons Why Dr. Derby's Work is Exceptional!Dr. Derby is a game changer! He is a true professional and compassionate, relatable, and treats you like family, no wonder he is a sought after cosmetic, plastic & reconstructive surgery specialist!My experience with his work and his staff is something I love to share with friends and family! I trusted him with lipo in my flanks, bra fat, a tummy tuck, and breast implants. He truly made a positive impact  on me and my body, so much, my husband said, "I need to come in and shake his hand!" More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 04, 2019

Dr. Derby is a game changer! He is a true professional and compassionate, relatable, and treats you like family, no wonder he is a sought after cosmetic, plastic & reconstructive surgery specialist!My experience with his work and his staff is something I love to share with friends and family! He truly made a positive impact  on me and my body, so much, my husband said, "I need to come in and shake his hand!" More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 03, 2019

3 Reasons Why I Love Dr. Derby's Work - Dr. Derby is a game changer! He is a true professional and compassionate, relatable, and treats you like family, no wonder he is a sought after plastic surgeon!My experience with his work and his staff is something I love to share with friends and family! I trusted him with lipo in my flanks, bra fat, a tummy tuck, and breast implants. He truly made a positive impact on me and my body, so much, my husband said, "I need to come in and shake his hand!" More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 08, 2019

Excellent work and friendly personality - I had severe diastasis recti and an umbilical hernia (not to mention some gross extra skin) after having my daughter. I didn’t feel attractive or like me anymore. I was referred to Dr. Derby by my doctor and had a tummy tuck with hernia repair. I cannot even believe this is my body. I’m pretty sure I look better than before I got pregnant. The morning of the surgery my husband was unable to bring me in, so I was dropped off by a friend. I was starting to get nervous but as soon as Dr. Derby came in, I felt like a friend was there with me to reassure me. Since then, I’ve been in a number of times to follow up. He and his team are really wonderful at making me feel at ease and confident about my body again. I am so glad I had this done and that I found Dr. Derby to do it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 19, 2018

Amazing - Took off a lot of weight, wanted tummy tuck and butt lift.Got both from Dr Derby. Results are amazing!!Would recommend him and his staff to anyone and everyone.They are wonderful, kind and giving. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 11, 2018

10 stars 3 days post-op from a tummy tuck. Dr. Derby and his staff are more then AMAZING, his bed side manners are beyond of what you expect. He called me yesterday to check up on me and made me laugh, he has a great sense of humor and is so nice and he made me feel like I was his only patient, making feel important and answering all of my weird questions prior to the surgery and after the surgery. If you’re in search for great surgeon that goes above and beyond... well this is the place to go. Asks for Dr. Derby and you won’t be disappointed. I would give Dr. Derby and his staff 10 stars if I could. I can’t wait to see my final results. Thanks Dr. Derby, you’re the best!!! ⭐️ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 11, 2018

10 stars 3 days post-op from a tummy tuck. Dr. Derby and his staff are more then AMAZING, his bed side manners are beyond of what you expect. He called me yesterday to check up on me and made me laugh, he has a great sense of humor and is so nice and he made me feel like I was his only patient, making feel important and answering all of my weird questions prior to the surgery and after the surgery. If you’re in search for great surgeon that goes above and beyond... well this is the place to go. Asks for Dr. Derby and you won’t be disappointed. I would give Dr. Derby and his staff 10 stars if I could. I can’t wait to see my final results. Thanks Dr. Derby, you’re the best!!! ⭐️ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 11, 2018

10 stars 3 days post-op from a tummy tuck. Dr. Derby and his staff are more then AMAZING, his bed side manners are beyond of what you expect. He called me yesterday to check up on me and made me laugh, he has a great sense of humor and is so nice and he made me feel like I was his only patient, making feel important and answering all of my weird questions prior to the surgery and after the surgery. If you’re in search for great surgeon that goes above and beyond... well this is the place to go. Asks for Dr. Derby and you won’t be disappointed. I would give Dr. Derby and his staff 10 stars if I could. I can’t wait to see my final results. Thanks Dr. Derby, you’re the best!!! ⭐️ More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 11, 2018

10 stars ?? 3 days post-op from a tummy tuck. Dr. Derby and his staff are more then AMAZING, his bed side manners are beyond of what you expect. He called me yesterday to check up on me and made me laugh, he has a great sense of humor and is so nice and he made me feel like I was his only patient, making feel important and answering all of my weird questions prior to the surgery and after the surgery. If you’re in search for great surgeon that goes above and beyond, look no further. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 11, 2018

10 stars ?? 3 days post-op from a tummy tuck. Dr. Derby and his staff are more then AMAZING, his bed side manners are beyond of what you expect. He called me yesterday to check up on me and made me laugh, he has a great sense of humor and is so nice and he made me feel like I was his only patient, making feel important and answering all of my weird questions prior to the surgery and after the surgery. If you’re in search for great surgeon that goes above and beyond... well this is the place to go. Asks for Dr. Derby and you won’t be disappointed. I would give Dr. Derby and his staff 10 stars if I could. I can’t wait to see my final results. Thanks Dr. Derby, you’re the best!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 10, 2018

Dr. Derby is the best! - 3 days post-op from a tummy tuck. Dr. Derby and his staff are more then AMAZING, his bed side manners are beyond of what you expect. He called me yesterday to check up on me and made me laugh, he has a great sense of humor and is so nice and he made me feel like I was his only patient, making feel important and answering all of my weird questions prior to the surgery and after the surgery. If... More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-02-20
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 17, 2017

Dr. Derby is everything you could want in a surgeon. - Dr. Derby recently did three procedures for me in two separate surgeries. I can't say enough about Dr. Derby's talent, caring nature and staff. All staff is professional, personable and the facility is immaculate. I'm amazed at what Dr. Derby was able to do. Results far exceeded my expectations. Dr. Derby made me feel like the most important patient he ever had. - - Dr. Derby recently did three procedures for me in two separate surgeries. I can't say enough about Dr. Derby's talent, caring nature and staff. All staff is professional, personable and the facility is immaculate. I'm amazed at what Dr. Derby was able to do. Results far exceeded my expectations. Dr. Derby made me feel like the most important patient he ever had. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 22, 2017

One of the best of the best! - From my first phone call to sarasota plastic surgery to now more then a year later I still feel I made the best choice going there. Dr. Derby is an amazing dr and takes the time to talk with you and about your concerns at the consult. His staff was also helpful with making the process very easy. They did not pressure me to get the surgery and try a sales pitch. They were genuine and wanted the... More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13864641
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 13, 2016

Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. I am thrilled with the results! The preparation for the surgery was well organized and thoughtful while ensuring that my expectations were appropriate. The aftercare was thoughtful and complete. I would recommend Dr Derby to anyone considering a procedure. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13839321
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 12, 2016

The effects of four pregnancies all by C-section every two years through out my twenties left me with a very undesirable shape. I had tried kick boxing, cycling, hiking, and general laps on the treadmill to try to maintain my weight and regain some semblance of my pre-baby shape. Along with healthy eating and the sheer craziness of my life with four young children I was able to get my weight within 10 pounds of my pre-pregnancy weight each time and maintain that. For those of you good with math that means 10 extra pounds with each precious child. My weight wasn't the only issue it was also the extreme extra skin that was left over from the surgeries. I decided to go ahead with a tummy tuck along with liposuction. Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. I am thrilled with the results! The preparation for the surgery was well organized and thoughtful while ensuring that my expectations were appropriate. The aftercare was thoughtful and complete. I would recommend Dr. Derby to anyone considering a procedure. All of the "side effects" are well worth the results which were just amazing. I still can't believe it. I am just thrilled! I was honest with most but work about the procedure. Even those at work called me out on the differences...they were definitely noticeable and keep getting better with each passing week. All in all, I have no regrets and I am sure that I made the best decision in who I chose to perform the procedure. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13869830
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Dec 12, 2016

Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. I am thrilled with the results! The preparation for the surgery was well organized and thoughtful while ensuring that my expectations were appropriate. The aftercare was thoughtful and complete. I would recommend Dr Derby to anyone considering a procedure. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-12-14
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 11, 2016

Tummy Tuck with Liposuction for 36 yr old mommy - The staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center was kind, compassionate, and knowledgeable in their assessments and care. Dr. Derby did an excellent job of making me feel at ease while answering all my questions and addressing all of my concerns. They were upfront with all aspects of the surgery and managed my expectations. I am ecstatic regarding the outcome of the procedures. It turned out even better than I had hoped and anticipated. I would recommend this doctor as well as the facility if you are considering a procedure. - - The effects of four pregnancies all by C-section every two years through out my twenties left me with a very undesirable shape. I had tried kick boxing, cycling, hiking, and general laps on the treadmill to try to maintain my weight and regain some semblance of my pre-baby shape. Along with healthy eating and the sheer craziness of my life with four young children I was able to get my weight within 10 pounds of my pre-pregnancy weight each time and maintain that. For those of you good with math that means 10 extra pounds with each precious child. My weight wasn’t the only issue it was also the extreme extra skin that was left over from the surgeries. I had been randomly doing research on having a tummy tuck since my last child was born. I put it off longer than I needed to as well because I was worried that there was no way that they would clear me for surgery with the extra weight I maintained. This was not the case. While I would have managed, I am very glad that I also waited until my youngest was five before undergoing the surgery. I was still tempted and did (just a couple of times) find myself in situations where I had to pick him up before I was cleared to. I paid for it every time. Which brings me to my biggest piece of advise. Have a good support network setup and make sure you have time to completely shut down and do nothing for at least two weeks. I mistakenly thought that I would be up and about within three weeks. Yes, even with all the C-section experience. When preparing for surgery please make sure you do your research on the facility and doctor who will be performing the procedure. I went to three consultations before I decided. Although it wasn’t a tough decision once I met Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center. They were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. You will have questions (some embarrassing) during your recovery and before the surgery. It is essential that you can trust your doctor and their staff. I was very fortunate in that I found an excellent facility and doctor to perform the procedure.I was so excited, even more then nervous, for the surgery. I felt guilty which I have heard is common for mommies. I still do feel a bit of guilt but I give my heart and soul to my children this was something I needed to do to regain a piece of me I had lost along the way. Pajamas was all that was really necessary for the day of and day after the surgery. All the rest sat in the bag, never used. Then there was pain, and more pain, and a bit more pain oh and swelling, lots and lots of swelling. Make sure the nursing staff keeps up on your pain meds and just say no if they want to pull your catheter before you are ready. Do get up and walk when they tell you to…it will help later…or so I’ve been told. My husband was wonderful during my recovery and did almost everything for me. Walking consisted of making it to the fridge and back to the bed for most of the early days so plan on taking it pretty slow for a while.Every day the pain gets better…little by little…each day a little bit better until finally it subsides to the point where you don’t notice it every waking second. I was stitched particularly tight which meant that I was also stooped over for a very long while… (at least three weeks). I am approximately eight weeks post op and I only have phantom pains through my hips when I have over done it. My procedure included liposuction which made this surgery so much different than the C-sections because it felt like my whole core had been obliterated. I still feel like I am wrapped tightly especially around the back but this is subsiding too as time passes. The numbness through my stomach and back were surprising side effects that I hadn’t anticipated. I guess the feeling won’t completely return for up to a year. At this point the feeling is starting to come back but I still cannot feel my belly button area at all. The other surprising revelation was that with the tightening the pubic hair line moves up from where it was so be prepared to either get laser hair removal after the procedure or become really good at waxing. The bruising was also unbelievable in their size and color. These of course subside with time but they can be alarming when you first see them. All of these “side effects” are well worth the results which were just amazing. I still can’t believe it. I am just thrilled! I was honest with most but work about the procedure. Even those at work called me out on the differences…they were definitely noticeable and keep getting better with each passing week. I still have to be careful of not overdoing it or my back becomes very sore and for me I get pains in my hips. I also have to watch my food intake to make sure there is not too much salt because that makes the swelling even worse. I can’t eat much since the tightening which is great but it also means that I have to make sure I am eating enough protein. I preferred soup as a comfort food after the surgery but I found that resulted in me not eating enough. I haven’t started working out since we are so close to Christmas…thinking I’ll just start that as my New Year’s resolution. All in all, I have no regrets and I hope this rambling on will help those considering a tummy tuck procedure in making the best decision for themselves. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13062340
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Sep 14, 2016

This is my second procedure with Dr. Derby! I can???t believe I am saying that! I was so hesitant to have any cosmetic surgeries it???s hard to believe that I have had two done. Dr. Derby did a tummy tuck for me in January. I was so pleased with the results I decided to have a second procedure done. My breasts had become too large and was causing neck and back pain. I spoke to Dr. Derby about a breast reduction. He explained the benefits from having it done, the procedure itself and what to expect for recovery. I have soooo much confidence in Dr. Derby that I scheduled my procedure and had it done 4 weeks ago. I could not be happier! Dr. Derby made my breasts not too big, not too small, but just right. I now have Goldilock breasts! They look so much better and I noticed right away with the weight gone from my chest, my neck and back pain subsided. Clothes fit so much better too! The recovery was easy. Dr. Derby checked on me the night of my surgery and I saw him the very next day. I have had multiple follow-ups and I am always so pleased to see how Dr. Derby, Lisa, Kerri and the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery center are so caring and attentive. Dr. Derby is a wonderful young surgeon with an amazing future. I am so glad we have him in Sarasota! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13074237
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 14, 2016

This is my second procedure with Dr. Derby! Dr. Derby did a tummy tuck for me in January. I was so pleased with the results and with Dr. Derby I had a second procedure done. Dr. Derby did a breast reduction for me 4 weeks ago. I could not be happier! My neck and back pain subsided and my clothes fit so much better. Dr. Derby made my breasts not too big, not too small, but just right. I now have Goldilock breasts! Dr. Derby is a wonderful young surgeon. I am so glad we have him in Sarasota! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-07-27
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 25, 2016

Age 40; 3 Kids and Lots of Extra Skin in the Tummy Region - Sarasota, FL - To anyone out there thinking about getting a tummy tuck, Dr. Derby is /was so attentive. He truly put me at ease by answering every single question that I had and took as much time as needed to make me feel comfortable about the procedure even after the surgery was completed.Not only is he extremely educated in the area of abdominoplasty, but his bed side manner is amazing. He truly showed concern for me as his patient and made me feel so comfortable. I would recommend him to anyone looking to have cosmetic surgery done. - - I'm a mother of 3 very large baby boys who caused my stomach to become covered in stretch marks and sagging skin. I hated the way I looked in a bikini or even just showing my stomach in general! I had the abdominoplasty surgery done on March 9th of 2016. Excited but nervous, I arrived to the surgery center where I met with my nurses (amazing) and Dr. Derby. They were prompt and so professional. When I woke up, to my surprise, I really wasn't in as much pain as I had expected. I just had a lot of discomfort. I spent that night in the rehab center and went back to see Dr. Derby the next morning. After about two weeks I was able to start getting up and move around (with pain meds) to shower on my own. I returned to work (system admin) after 3 weeks and was a little uncomfortable but able to do normal activities of my job. After the 4 month mark I could start to see the swelling go down and also started to feel more like myself again when moving. I am now 6 month post-surgery and look (not to toot my own horn) amazing! I so love to show off my tummy in a bikini and even went down in a size. YAY!! For me, it was so worth it but it took the right team and surgeon! I would do it all over again in a heartbeat! So, here is a BIG Thank You to Dr. Derby and staff for your amazing skills and incredible bedside manner. I truly appreciate the way you took care of me during the surgery and as you continue to do so as your patient. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-09-10
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jul 25, 2016

Age 40; Mother of 3 With Lots of Extra Skin in the Tummy Region - Sarasota, FL - To anyone out there thinking about getting a tummy tuck Dr. Derby is wonderful.. He is/ was so attentive and completely put me at ease by answering every single question that I had. And, trust me, there were plenty.. :) But, he gave me as much time as I needed to make me feel comfortable about the procedure before and even after the surgery was completed.Not only is he extremely educated in the area of abdominoplasty, but his bed side manner is amazing! He truly showed concern for me as his patient and made me feel so comfortable. I would recommend him to anyone looking to have cosmetic surgery done. - - I'm a mother of 3 very large baby boys who caused my stomach to become covered in stretch marks and sagging skin. I hated the way I looked in a bikini or even just showing my stomach in general! I had the abdominoplasty surgery done on March 9th of 2016. Excited but nervous, I arrived to the surgery center where I met with my nurses (amazing) and Dr. Derby. They were prompt and so professional. When I woke up, to my surprise, I really wasn't in as much pain as I had expected. I just had a lot of discomfort. I spent that night in the rehab center and went back to see Dr. Derby the next morning. After about two weeks I was able to start getting up and move around (with pain meds) to shower on my own. I returned to work (system admin) after 3 weeks and was a little uncomfortable but able to do normal activities of my job. After the 4 month mark I could start to see the swelling go down and also started to feel more like myself again when moving. I am now 6 month post-surgery and look (not to toot my own horn) amazing! I so love to show off my tummy in a bikini and even went down in a size. YAY!! For me, it was so worth it but it took the right team and surgeon! I would do it all over again in a heartbeat! So, here is a BIG Thank You to Dr. Derby and staff for your amazing skills and incredible bedside manner. I truly appreciate the way you took care of me during the surgery and as you continue to do so as your patient. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10225280
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 02, 2016

I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby could not have been better! From the first visit I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. I had a adominoplasty/tummy tuck & it is considered major surgery. I got the patient care & results I wanted from Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center. You should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I highly recommend Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, & artist! THANK YOU! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10206757
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 30, 2016

"I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby, the nurses and the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center could not have been better! I was very hesitant to get any plastic surgery for one big reasons: Any surgery that is optional should be avoided - why take the risk! But after years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I started to consider a tummy tuck. I finally got the courage to schedule an appointment and I met with Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center. From the very first visit with Dr. Derby I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. He spent plenty of time with me answering all my questions and concerns, but most of all he listened to what I wanted, he did not tell me what I needed but offered what he could do to provide me with the desired results. He told me the truth about what the risks were and what was involved to get the results I wanted. Dr. Derby is extremely knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he does. So.... I scheduled my abdominoplasty/tummy tuck and I am happy to say my results were more than I could have hoped for! I no longer hate to shop for clothes or need to dress to hide my flaws. In fact, I love to dress again! The support I am receiving after my surgery from Dr. Derby is amazing. At my follow up visits, I receive undivided and unhurried attention from him and the staff. The staff is very supportive and helpful. They understand my needs and have wonderful advice and insights for me during my recovery. Abdominoplasty/tummy tuck is a serious major surgery and you should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I got the results I wanted and I will have any other procedures done at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center and by Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, and artist! I highly recommend Dr. Derby I know you will love him!" More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10207700
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Vitals  |  Mar 29, 2016

???I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby, the nurses and the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center could not have been better! I was very hesitant to get any plastic surgery for one big reasons: Any surgery that is optional should be avoided - why take the risk! But after years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I started to consider a tummy tuck. I finally got the courage to schedule an appointment and I met with Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center. From the very first visit with Dr. Derby I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. He spent plenty of time with me answering all my questions and concerns, but most of all he listened to what I wanted, he did not tell me what I needed but offered what he could do to provide me with the desired results. He told me the truth about what the risks were and what was involved to get the results I wanted. Dr. Derby is extremely knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he does. So???. I scheduled my abdominoplasty/tummy tuck and I am happy to say my results were more than I could have hoped for! I no longer hate to shop for clothes or need to dress to hide my flaws. In fact, I love to dress again! The support I am receiving after my surgery from Dr. Derby is amazing. At my follow up visits, I receive undivided and unhurried attention from him and the staff. The staff is very supportive and helpful. They understand my needs and have wonderful advice and insights for me during my recovery. Abdominoplasty/tummy tuck is a serious major surgery and you should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I got the results I wanted and I will have any other procedures done at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center and by Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, and artist! I highly recommend Dr. Derby I know you will love him!??? More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-04-01
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 29, 2016

A Real Game Changer - Sarasota, FL - “I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby, the nurses and the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center could not have been better!I was very hesitant to get any plastic surgery for one big reasons: Any surgery that is optional should be avoided - why take the risk! But after years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I started to consider a tummy tuck. I finally got the courage to schedule an appointment and I met with Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center.From the very first visit with Dr. Derby I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. He spent plenty of time with me answering all my questions and concerns, but most of all he listened to what I wanted, he did not tell me what I needed but offered what he could do to provide me with the desired results. He told me the truth about what the risks were and what was involved to get the results I wanted.We also discussed the added health benefits I would see when my weakened abdominal muscles are repaired. We both agreed this would be a real "Game Changer" for me. Not just my appearance but at the gym as well. I am 57 years old and having a stable core is critical to living an active life as we get older. Dr. Derby is extremely knowledgeable about his profession and you can tell he loves what he does!So…. I scheduled my abdominoplasty/tummy tuck and I am happy to say my results were more than I could have hoped for! I no longer hate to shop for clothes or need to dress to hide my flaws. In fact, I love to dress again! I can feel the changes to my core already and can't wait to get back to the gym!The support I am receiving after my surgery from Dr. Derby is amazing. At my follow up visits, I receive undivided and unhurried attention from him and the staff. The staff is very supportive and helpful. They understand my needs and have wonderful advice and insights for me during my recovery.Abdominoplasty/tummy tuck is a serious major surgery and you should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I got the results I wanted and I will have any other procedures done at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center and by Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, and artist! I highly recommend Dr. Derby I know you will love him too!” - - After years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I had a tummy tuck. My procedure lasted 6 hours because I had abdominal muscle and skin tightening along with liposuction, a new belly button, a hernia repair and I had drainage tubes inserted. Days and weeks after my surgery I questioned my judgment as to why I inflicted this kind of pain on myself! The recovery was painful in the beginning but once the drains came out I started feel like myself again. I am now 2 months’ post-surgery and I am so GLAD I had this procedure done. I am looking and feeling better and better every day! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-03-31
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 29, 2016

"Wonderful Doctor, Wonderful Results!" - Sarasota, FL - “I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby, the nurses and the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center could not have been better!I was very hesitant to get any plastic surgery for one big reasons: Any surgery that is optional should be avoided - why take the risk! But after years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I started to consider a tummy tuck. I finally got the courage to schedule an appointment and I met with Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center.From the very first visit with Dr. Derby I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. He spent plenty of time with me answering all my questions and concerns, but most of all he listened to what I wanted, he did not tell me what I needed but offered what he could do to provide me with the desired results. He told me the truth about what the risks were and what was involved to get the results I wanted. Dr. Derby is extremely knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he does.So…. I scheduled my abdominoplasty/tummy tuck and I am happy to say my results were more than I could have hoped for! I no longer hate to shop for clothes or need to dress to hide my flaws. In fact, I love to dress again!The support I am receiving after my surgery from Dr. Derby is amazing. At my follow up visits, I receive undivided and unhurried attention from him and the staff. The staff is very supportive and helpful. They understand my needs and have wonderful advice and insights for me during my recovery.Abdominoplasty/tummy tuck is a serious major surgery and you should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I got the results I wanted and I will have any other procedures done at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center and by Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, and artist! I highly recommend Dr. Derby I know you will love him too!” - - After years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I had a tummy tuck. My procedure lasted 6 hours because I had abdominal muscle and skin tightening along with liposuction, a new belly button, a hernia repair and I had drainage tubes inserted. Days and weeks after my surgery I questioned my judgment as to why I inflicted this kind of pain on myself! The recovery was painful in the beginning but once the drains came out I started feel like myself again. I am now 2 months’ post-surgery and I am so GLAD I had this procedure done. I am looking and feeling better and better every day! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-02-24
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 22, 2016

I'm a 46 Year Old Woman That Could Not Loose my Love Handles and Tummy - Sarasota, FL - Dr. Derby is a truly amazing plastic surgeon. I explained what I wanted done and he exceeded beyond what I asked for. He did a wonderful job and I would refer him to anyone who is looking for a job well done. The staff treated me with kindness and took time to listen to me without judgement. Sarasota Plastics of Satasota is #1 More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-12-21
Review from V.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 06, 2015

40 Y , Mom of 3 Kids , and I Needed to Do a Tummy Tuck - Sarasota, FL - Dr. Derby is professionel , nice , friendly , lookup after his patient , stay in contact with his patient . - - i had a tummy tuck before and it was very bad experience , that i hate dmy body for that , so i decided to get another one , i met Dr Derby and i felt he is a good one , actually i went to see another Dr in sarasota and i felt that she want only for business , i didnt feel safe with her , plus she wanted me to go home same day after surgery , but Dr.Derby gave me the option that it will be better to stay in a rehab for a night till i feel better .now am 1 month after surgery , i feel good , final results we still need 2 more months to judge better . More

The board-certified plastic surgeons of Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center, Dr. Braun Graham, Dr. David Mobley, Dr. Scott Engel, and Dr. Brian Derby, offer a comprehensive range of cosmetic plastic surgery procedures. All information subject to change. Images may contain models. Individual results may vary. Individual results are not guaranteed.