Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Reconstructive Procedures Near Sarasota, FL

Filter25 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 19, 2018

I highly recommend Dr. Brian Derby! He is an expert Plastic Surgeon. In addition, Dr. Derby is one of few that performs breast reconstruction. Plus he is professional, mindful and kind. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 04, 2018

I am a bilateral breast cancer survivor having had a mastectomy on each side, 16 yrs apart. The right was a tram flap reconstruction & the left a failed implant reconstruction leaving me with a large ugly scar. Dr. Derby assured me that he would create a left breast and he would also make the reconstructed breast match, The transformation is so amazing, the experience remarkably positive & I am extremely happy. Dr. Derby builds trust, is respectful & provides continual, amazing personal care. More

5.0
Review from K.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Mar 08, 2018

Dr. Derby, I just wanted to thank you for your help in May 2017. You thought you were going to remove a cyst and you discovered I had cancer instead. You had tissue diagnosed to confirm and then took steps immediately to secure treatment, at home in Illinois, for me. You researched and recommended Dr. Francois Geoffroy at the Illinois Cancer Center. He and I got along very well and he started my chemo therapy the day after I got home. He diagnosed me with stage 4 B cell lymphoma and started an aggressive treatment called RCHOP. After 6 months of chemo and 28 days of radiation I was declared cancer free on Dec. 12th 2017 and we came back to Florida for January 2018. I feel that God put you in our path that day in May and I am grateful to you for helping me to live on today. ~K. More

Hartter, Kent E.jpg
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 27, 2018

I thought I was having the worse day of my life when a neighbor's dog bit off a huge chunk of my upper lip. Instead, it turned out to be a great day. Dr Derby saw me immediately and repaired the defect so beautifully that the scar is hardly noticeable 6 weeks later. Plus, he is an awesome person - super sweet, humble, easy to talk to . . . off the charts winner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 06, 2017

Top of the line plastic surgeon ! - Dr Derby and his staff at Sarasota plastic surgery center were exceptional. My surgery was something I had hoped to have after my first breast augmentation completely failed. I was left with “double bubble” on both breasts and it really hurt my self confidence. Over a year it gradually got worse and I finally decided to have reconstructive surgery. I researched a number of practices and vis... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Oct 29, 2017

Breast Augmentation - My surgeon was very good at listening to my desires, and answering my questions with straight forward answers. He understood my goals and didn't pressure me to make a decision on size based on what he thought would look best. He also performed a scar revision that had long bothered me, but I ignored due to an expensive quote from another surgeon. His price was very reasonable so I could not say no! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 24, 2017

The whole team is professional and personal. Dr Derby takes the time to explain step by step expectations. You never feel rushed. Anxiety was high on outcome of removing cancer from any part of face, you cannot even tell it was done. Dr Derby personally called to be sure the patient was comfortable and doing well once home. I would highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 11, 2017

Dr. Derby treated me like his father. He removed a scar on the top of my ear that was a result of Moh's surgery . He even played my favorite genre of music for me while doing the surgery. You have to look closely to even see that there was anything removed and this was only done 6 weeks ago. The staff was helpful in getting my insurance in order. The nurses were very kind and skilled as well . Thanks so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 31, 2017

Top Notch Surgeon - After a mammogram revealed that my implants of 30 plus years were starting to leak, it took me almost 3 years to have the surgery I needed. Once I met Dr. Derby there was no doubt that I wanted him to do the surgery. He explained thoroughly what options I had and answered all my questions to help me make the decision that would be right for me. My implants were surrounded by a mass of scar... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G. .  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 12, 2017

DR. Derby is a wonderful Dr. Did surgery on my eye lid that was pulling down. Did a great job. I would recommend him to anyone. Had a wonderful staff everyone was really nice. If I have to have anymore surgery he will be the one to do it. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 01, 2017

Dr. Derby is an excellent surgeon and someone I'd highly recommend. I had a bad fall and had an open skin flap across my forehead. I'm in awe of the job he did and so are my nursing friends. If you could see the before and after pictures, you'd be as impressed. In addition to his outstanding surgical skills, he is a very kind and compassionate physician. He was called into the ER at 4am on Memorial Day and was so gracious. I've worked in nursing for over 30yrs and he was wonderful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 14, 2017

I met Dr. Derby thru an emergency incident. I had split my lip wide open and it required 7-8 stitches. The results are so good that no one would know that I had injured my lip. I was so impressed with him that I asked him if he could possibly help me out with corrective surgery with my eyes. Previously, I had eyelid surgery 10 years ago. He suggested having a brow lift procedure. I had the best care before, during, and after the procedure. Dr. Derby is a highly skilled and talented surgeon. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 13, 2017

Natural looking results from surgery - I met Dr. Derby thru an emergency incident. I had split my lip wide open and it required 7-8 stitches. The results are so good that no one would know that I had injured my lip. I was so impressed with him that I asked him if he could possibly help me out with corrective surgery with my eyes. Previously, I had eyelid surgery 10 years ago. He suggested having a brow lift procedure. I had the best care before, during, and after the procedure. Dr. Derby is a highly skilled and talented plastic surgeon. He has a great personality and makes you feel comfortable and listens to all your concerns. I am more than pleased with the results and I recommend him to all my friends. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13949001
Review from L.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 02, 2017

Dr. Derby repaired the upper tip of my nose that was scraped away by Moh's surgery. I was concerned about the wound repair surgery and how it would affect my appearance. Dr. Derby was extremely caring throughout the surgery and healing process. He made me feel that I was his most important patient. His skilled hands repaired a nose that looked better than before. I am very thankful to Dr. Derby and with full confidence, I would recommend him to anyone. I was fortunate to experience his talent. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13836713
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 11, 2016

About a year ago, I had extensive melanoma surgery on the right cheek, and the dermatologist who performed the Mohs surgery referred me to Dr. Brian Derby. The reconstructive surgery went very well and healed rapidly. Today, because of Dr. Derby's expertise, my face shows no scarring. God bless you, Dr. Derby! I would certainly recommend family and friends to this excellent, professional and personable physician. More

5.0
Review from K.L  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Dec 19, 2016

I came to SPSC for recommendations on breast reconstruction. I knew from the very beginning he [Dr. Derby] was a good man and shortly after knew he was also a great doctor. Dr. Derby was respectful to us, called us by our first name, never used nicknames or "hun" it was always first name basis. The preoperative experience was very thorough. All information was provided and accurate. Dr. Derby is always reassuring, some pain involved post-surgical as expected, since subsided. Very pleased with my result. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. I feel I’ve been in good hands having Dr. Derby as my doctor. I trust and like Dr. Derby very much. I would recommend my friends and family to him. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13230658
Review from F.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 03, 2016

I was treated by Dr. Derby for an invasive skin cancer. Thanks to his surgical skill and treatment plan, the healing process was brought to a successful conclusion. From the very start, Dr. Derby made me feel very comfortable and never failed to respond to any concerns or questions that I had. A big positive for me was his engaging, affable personality. I would also like to commend Dr. Derby's staff for their efficient and caring attention. Highly recommend. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-12628317
Review from S.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 08, 2016

Dr. Derby's first priority was making me feel at ease. He listened to me, checked the wound that I needed fixed because it would not close and explained step by step his procedure. During surgery under local anesthetic he constantly told me what was going on, check to make sure there was no pain and even called me that evening and the next day to check on me. I've had two follow up visits and I'm extremely pleased. I look forward to seeing him in about a year for another procedure. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10943341
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 08, 2016

I recently had a wonderful experience with Dr. Derby and his staff. My dermatologist had discovered a melanoma on my upper arm and it needed to be removed. Dr. Derby was able to accommodate me in his schedule. His manner is very professional, yet warm and friendly. He put me at ease and gave me great confidence. The procedure was painless and very thorough, with excellent results. Dr. Derby and his staff exceeded my expectations, and I have already recommended him to friends and family. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-11995308
Review from T.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 13, 2016

Dr. Mobley is the best plastic surgeon ever! I had a car accident over 20 years ago with major damage to my face. A doctor in New York botched a surgery to my jaw and I went all over the country trying to find someone to fix it. Every doctor I saw refused to help me. When I moved to Sarasota and found Dr. Mobley he had compassion and went above and beyond to help me. Sometimes I have to wait beyond my appointment time but when he comes in the room he is laser focused on me and seems to have all the time in the world.... Never rushed. He is a perfectionist and just a lovely kind man. Trisha Ruble More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4407148
Review from C.J.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 17, 2013

Dr, Scott Engle removed some glass that had been embedded in my face for over 2 years from a car accident. He was such an amazing doctor and his nurse was awesome too. Just a few days after the stiches came out friends had to get very close to see where I had been sewn up. The office staff is great to work with and the girls at the front are so welcoming and friendly. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4422790
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Dec 18, 2010

Dr. Engel is a terrific doctor to go to if you need reconstructive surgery after breast cancer. The doctor and his staff are so caring and compassionate. More

5.0
Review from RC  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 19, 2017

In addition to superior surgeon skills, Dr. Derby has a reassuring manner that is so refreshing. You can tell it is not practiced speech, it is genuine and heartfelt. Dr. Derby is just fabulous, he did a marvelous job. I had a situation that was bad and just getting worse. Without Dr. Derby I would have been in a lot of trouble. I will forever be grateful to him. He talked to me through the removal of a very large right cheek skin cancer under local anesthetic, and repair of the large defect that resulted. Beth, Melissa and Tyka in the operating room, and in the recovery area, were wonderful. When we got the call that the margins were clear, there was an audible "whoopee" in the operating room, which made me very happy. The weight was lifted off my shoulders. Courtney was an angel on his shoulder, and she took the time to listen and care. The fact that she didn't just blow off my call to arrange a consult with Dr. Derby meant the world to me. The whole organization is top notch, well organized, and all of the staff were wonderful. I want to make sure the public knows how supportive the whole staff was, and how terrific Dr. Derby is. As a man who was in business for over 45 years, and a VP of marketing, the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery knows what they're doing and Dr. Derby is the BEST plastic surgeon. This in the only place I will go. Every facet of my experience gets 5 stars! Take one look at the parking lot and try to find a space, and you quickly realize, they must be doing something right. More

5.0
Review from RC  |  Source: Office Visit  |  May 13, 2017

In addition to superior surgeon skills, Dr. Derby has a reassuring manner that is so refreshing. You can tell it is not practiced speech, it is genuine and heartfelt. Dr. Derby is just fabulous, he did a marvelous job. I had a situation that was bad and just getting worse. Without Dr. Derby I would have been in a lot of trouble. I will forever be grateful to him. He talked to me through the removal of a very large right cheek skin cancer under local anesthetic, and repair of the large defect that resulted. Beth, Melissa and Tyka in the operating room, and in the recovery area, were wonderful. When we got the call that the margins were clear, there was an audible “whoopee” in the operating room, which made me very happy. The weight was lifted off my shoulders. Courtney was an angel on his shoulder, and she took the time to listen and care. The fact that she didn’t just blow off my call to arrange a consult with Dr. Derby meant the world to me. The whole organization is top notch, well organized, and all of the staff were wonderful. I want to make sure the public knows how supportive the whole staff was, and how terrific Dr. Derby is. As a man who was in business for over 45 years, and a VP of marketing, the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery knows what they’re doing and Dr. Derby is the BEST plastic surgeon. This is the only place I will go. Every facet of my experience gets 5 stars! Take one look at the parking lot and try to find a space, and you quickly realize, they must be doing something right. More

image2.jpeg
5.0
Review from HZ  |  Source: Office Visit  |  May 16, 2016

Dr. Derby did a very good job. He is very nice and patient and explained every single thing to me. My husband and I came down from Illinois and I had to get this treatment in Florida. I'm glad I found Dr. Derby. My nose is still healing, but it's only been 3 weeks and it's very nice. I do not looked deformed. I appreciate him. More

The board-certified plastic surgeons of Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center, Dr. Braun Graham, Dr. David Mobley, Dr. Scott Engel, and Dr. Brian Derby, offer a comprehensive range of cosmetic plastic surgery procedures. All information subject to change. Images may contain models. Individual results may vary. Individual results are not guaranteed.