Patient Reviews Image

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Liposuction Procedures Near Sarasota, FL

Filter47 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Jan 14, 2019

Liposuction - The Surgeon was amazing! He spent a lot of time with me and was patient with all of my questions. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.I.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 22, 2019

I was seeking consultation for a tummy tuck, breast reduction/lift, liposuction, inner thigh lifting and rhinoplasty (broke my nose a couple times). After much research, I chose Dr. Engel, as he was highly rated. I was extremely comfortable with Dr. Engel and his staff. I have underwent three surgeries since 2014 w/Dr. Engel. To say I am elated is an understatement. LOOK NO MORE....Dr. Engel is your surgeon!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Dec 18, 2018

Liposuction - Dr. Engel is amazing!! He even commented, prior to surgery, that I would be a real challenge as my stomach was so large, I looked and was asked several times if I was [pregnant] (I'm 48yrs. old and my tubes have been tied). Dr. Engel even sent me for a cat scan to make sure there wasn't a tumor involved. Nothing was wrong and we couldn't understand why the fat just appeared in my stomach (I am a very small person and I looked hideous!). Dr. performed liposuction AND a tummy tuck at the same time. Afterwords, I won't mislead you)..the pain was very bad and since my surgery was so severe the pain lasted for over 7 mos. It has now been about a yr..no more pain and a flat stomach. Dr. Engel is truly an amazing surgeon. He also performed breast augmentation on my daughter, who weighs about 101 lbs. and has a very small frame..he chose a smaller size for the implants so they did not protrude anywhere on her tiny frame, even sat her up during surgery and tried different sized implants on her, and came up with a small size that fits her body perfectly and you could NEVER TELL her breasts had been done, they fit her perfectly!! Once again, I couldn't recommend Dr. Engel highly enough..he is the very best plastic surgeon Sarasota (or anywhere) has to offer! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Mar 18, 2018

Liposuction - I felt very comfortable with the surgeon and felt that he really cared about my concerns and questions regarding the procedure. The office is very comfortable and inviting and the staff was super friendly. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Mar 15, 2018

Liposuction - I felt confident in the abilities of my surgeon and the office staff were very knowledgeable and helpful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 26, 2018

Triplet Mom, 1 Year PP, Breast Lift with Implants, and Liposuction - Dr. Engle is simply the best that I’ve seen in natural-looking results. I’ve worked in plastic surgery in the past and it is common for a doc to agree with any procedure the patient wants. Dr. Engle was very open and honest with me about 1) procedures I wanted that he didn’t think I needed and 2) recommending things that he thought would give me the result I wanted. He was right about everything and it was very refreshing to have a doctor like him helping me make such a huge decision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Feb 15, 2018

Liposuction - The knowledge. The follow up and sincerity of staff.Dr. Engel was caring, knowledgeable and confident. Highly respect his expertise and professionalism. Have given high reviews to friends. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Nov 05, 2017

Liposuction - Very unusual case. Was sent for a cat scan because the weight gain in just my stomach was unknown. After receiving results Dr. Engel consulted with me again and since the results showed up perfectly we proceeded to schedule the operation. Dr. Engel did a breast augmentation on my daughter not too long ago so I thought my procedure would be closer to $9,000 to $10,000 but it was $13,000+. My mom has to pay for it so we were hoping for a llttle more of a discount. I scheduled the surgery anyway, since it is very important to me (a 46 yr. old with tied tubes) not to look pregnant, and I do. My neighbor just asked me my due date. I am so very unhappy and depressed at this time. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 30, 2017

26 Years Old, Young Guy, Inherited Double Chin from Parents! - Dr. Derby is a caring, compassionate surgeon and has your best interest at heart. It is a rarity to find someone like that nowadays. My questions were always answered to the best of his abilities. Very amiable, professional, and driven to get you the best results. My expectations were exceeded and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. From start to finish it was 10/10 service from him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Oct 03, 2017

Liposuction - Dr. Engel was very precise and efficient. He does a wonderful job, and I would not hesitate to see him for future procedures. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Oct 15, 2017

Dr. Mobley and His Team Are Awesome - Dr. Mobley is an excellent surgeon. I appreciated how encouraging he was while also grounding my expectations into reality (i.e. not promising me the moon with my surgery). He's an honest man and I highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Aug 20, 2017

Liposuction - The doctor was honest about why this procedure may not be right More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 07, 2017

Amazing beyond words - I went to Dr. Derby with no idea what I wanted or needed. I've gone through a massive weight loss and knew I wanted some work done. After meeting with him I decided on a few options. I got a breast lift, augmentation and some Lipo under my armpits to remove a layer of fat/skin left over from my weight loss. I couldn't have picked anyone better. He has been such a delight as a doctor. He is... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 11, 2017

Age 60 Female: Liposuction - Highly Recommend Dr. Derby - Without a doubt, Dr. Derby is the most compassionate doctor I have ever dealt with. From pre-op to post-op, he made me feel well-cared for and totally comfortable as did his support staff. I followed Dr. Derby's advice and had lymphatic drainage massages during recovery which I feel contributed positively to my healing process. I am extremely happy with the results of my liposuction procedure.... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 11, 2017

Without a doubt, Dr. Derby is the most compassionate doctor I have ever dealt with. From pre-op to post-op, he made me feel well-cared for and totally comfortable as did his support staff. I followed Dr. Derby's advice and had lymphatic drainage massages during recovery which I feel contributed positively to my healing process. I am extremely happy with the results of my liposuction procedure.... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 12, 2017

Age 60 Female: Liposuction - Highly Recommend Dr. Derby - Without a doubt, Dr. Derby is the most compassionate doctor I have ever dealt with. From pre-op to post-op, he made me feel well-cared for and totally comfortable as did his support staff. I followed Dr. Derby's advice and had lymphatic drainage massages during recovery which I feel contributed positively to my healing process. I am extremely happy with the results of my liposuction procedure.... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jun 05, 2017

The best! - I did my research and went to Dr. Engle because of his reputation. He is the best! I was so scared to go through with my mommy makeover, but he was so kind and explained throughly what to expect. He really listened to what I wanted and did a fabulous job. I am very happy with the outcome. He did exactly what I asked! He is an artist, and knows what he is doing. Trust his guidance and... More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 21, 2017

I performed a bunch of research on potential doctors for my breast fat transfer. Not all plastic surgeons perform this type of procedure, and I wanted to make sure I had a well-trained, caring, and highly rated board certified plastic surgeon. I researched doctors from the Tampa area down to Naples. I was impressed with Dr. Engel's education, training at the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, and glowing patient reviews. I could not find one negative review (and believe me, I looked!) I went to a couple consultations and decided on Dr. Engel because he matched my criteria above as well as being smart, patient, and compassionate. Although he looked good on paper, I thoroughly questioned him to make sure he knew his stuff. He was surprised that I cared so much about the details, and he told me not to worry because he's very experienced and has even taught other doctors about fat transfer. Fortunately, he still took the time to answer my long list of questions. He made me feel like he would spend as much time with me as I needed. Even though I'm often nervous at doctor appointments and shy about about being naked, Dr. Engel is considerate and tries to make me feel comfortable. I liked his reassuring words. He is charming, personable, and has a good sense of humor. Before surgery, Dr. Engel generously offered to improve a couple more areas of my body. He truly cared about giving me the best result possible, no matter if it took him more time and effort. I estimate he performed at least $1000 (probably more) of complimentary work for me, considering the extra areas of liposuction and additional time spent. He's similar to me in that he wants to do the best job possible (perfectionist quality that I like). I was actually hesitant at first to agree to the extra work because it was unexpected. But then Dr. Engel said, "I'm just going to make you more pretty." So I said yes. How can I argue with my expert plastic surgeon who wants to go above and beyond, doing complimentary work just to make me "more pretty?" He didn't have to do that, and it's another reason I'm glad I picked Dr. Engel. He must take pride in his work. When he came in before surgery, he was in a really good mood and wanted to make feel at ease. He could tell I was getting extremely nervous, so he held my hands and reassured me he would take care of me. He reiterated that he would treat me as well as if I was his wife (he said that in our consultations too, and he truly seems genuine when he says it). He calmed my nerves, and the surgery indeed went well. My recovery has been much easier than expected too!Something that I liked about the day of surgery is when Dr. Engel said I was one of his most educated patients during pre-op (smart girls rule). He was impressed with how much I researched the procedure. Also, he was understanding that I would have a hard time trusting him. He was extra patient with me, and I'm thankful that he took his time in surgery in order to deliver the best results possible. At our follow-up, he emphasized how much he cared about me when he said that he was thinking about me all weekend, hoping that I was recovering well. During our recent appointments, he has been super attentive to ensure I have a successful recovery.From my research, I also found him to be a family man and one that gives back to his community. I feel secure not only being in the hands of an excellent doctor but also a good person. I'm looking to use Dr. Engel for additional treatments in the future, and I would highly recommend him to others!For a very detailed account of my breast fat transfer experience, check out my realself procedure review. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 20, 2017

30s Mom Hoping for Thinner Thighs and Bigger Boobs! - I performed a bunch of research on potential doctors for my breast fat transfer. Not all plastic surgeons perform this type of procedure, and I wanted to make sure I had a well-trained, caring, and highly rated board certified plastic surgeon. I researched doctors from the Tampa area down to Naples. I was impressed with Dr. Engel's education, training at the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, and glowing patient reviews. I could not find one negative review (and believe me, I looked!) I went to a couple consultations and decided on Dr. Engel because he matched my criteria above as well as being smart, patient, and compassionate. Although he looked good on paper, I thoroughly questioned him to make sure he knew his stuff. He was surprised that I cared so much about the details, and he told me not to worry because he's very experienced and has even taught other doctors about fat transfer. Fortunately, he still took the time to answer my long list of questions. He made me feel like he would spend as much time with me as I needed. Even though I'm often nervous at doctor appointments and shy about about being naked, Dr. Engel is considerate and tries to make me feel comfortable. I liked his reassuring words. He is charming, personable, and has a good sense of humor. Before surgery, Dr. Engel generously offered to improve a couple more areas of my body. He truly cared about giving me the best result possible, no matter if it took him more time and effort. I estimate he performed at least $1000 (probably more) of complimentary work for me, considering the extra areas of liposuction and additional time spent. He's similar to me in that he wants to do the best job possible (perfectionist quality that I like). I was actually hesitant at first to agree to the extra work because it was unexpected. But then Dr. Engel said, "I'm just going to make you more pretty." So I said yes. How can I argue with my expert plastic surgeon who wants to go above and beyond, doing complimentary work just to make me "more pretty?" He didn't have to do that, and it's another reason I'm glad I picked Dr. Engel. He must take pride in his work. When he came in before surgery, he was in a really good mood and wanted to make feel at ease. He could tell I was getting extremely nervous, so he held my hands and reassured me he would take care of me. He reiterated that he would treat me as well as if I was his wife (he said that in our consultations too, and he truly seems genuine when he says it). He calmed my nerves, and the surgery indeed went well. My recovery has been much easier than expected too!Something that I liked about the day of surgery is when Dr. Engel said I was one of his most educated patients during pre-op (smart girls rule). He was impressed with how much I researched the procedure. Also, he was understanding that I would have a hard time trusting him. He was extra patient with me, and I'm thankful that he took his time in surgery in order to deliver the best results possible. At our follow-up, he emphasized how much he cared about me when he said that he was thinking about me all weekend, hoping that I was recovering well. During our recent appointments, he has been super attentive to ensure I have a successful recovery.From my research, I also found him to be a family man and one that gives back to his community. I feel secure not only being in the hands of an excellent doctor but also a good person. I'm looking to use Dr. Engel for additional treatments in the future, and I would highly recommend him to others!For a very detailed account of my breast fat transfer experience, check out my realself procedure review. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 22, 2017

One of the best of the best! - From my first phone call to sarasota plastic surgery to now more then a year later I still feel I made the best choice going there. Dr. Derby is an amazing dr and takes the time to talk with you and about your concerns at the consult. His staff was also helpful with making the process very easy. They did not pressure me to get the surgery and try a sales pitch. They were genuine and wanted the... More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2017-01-25
Review from M.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Jan 24, 2017

Wonderful experience - Sarasota, FL - I had Liposuction done on my legs and abdomen. Dr. Derby made me feel very comfortable from the first initial consultation. He informed me thoroughly of what to expect and was always available to answer any questions I may have had pre and post surgery. I am very pleased with my results and am very thankful to Dr. Derby for making this journey a pleasant and rewarding one. - - I had Liposuction done on my legs and abdomen. Dr. Derby made me feel very comfortable from the first initial consultation. He informed me thoroughly of what to expect and was always available to answer any questions I may have had pre and post surgery. I am very pleased with my results and am very thankful to Dr. Derby for making this journey a pleasant and rewarding one. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13864641
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 13, 2016

Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. I am thrilled with the results! The preparation for the surgery was well organized and thoughtful while ensuring that my expectations were appropriate. The aftercare was thoughtful and complete. I would recommend Dr Derby to anyone considering a procedure. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13839321
Review from J.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 12, 2016

The effects of four pregnancies all by C-section every two years through out my twenties left me with a very undesirable shape. I had tried kick boxing, cycling, hiking, and general laps on the treadmill to try to maintain my weight and regain some semblance of my pre-baby shape. Along with healthy eating and the sheer craziness of my life with four young children I was able to get my weight within 10 pounds of my pre-pregnancy weight each time and maintain that. For those of you good with math that means 10 extra pounds with each precious child. My weight wasn't the only issue it was also the extreme extra skin that was left over from the surgeries. I decided to go ahead with a tummy tuck along with liposuction. Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. I am thrilled with the results! The preparation for the surgery was well organized and thoughtful while ensuring that my expectations were appropriate. The aftercare was thoughtful and complete. I would recommend Dr. Derby to anyone considering a procedure. All of the "side effects" are well worth the results which were just amazing. I still can't believe it. I am just thrilled! I was honest with most but work about the procedure. Even those at work called me out on the differences...they were definitely noticeable and keep getting better with each passing week. All in all, I have no regrets and I am sure that I made the best decision in who I chose to perform the procedure. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-13869830
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Dec 12, 2016

Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. I am thrilled with the results! The preparation for the surgery was well organized and thoughtful while ensuring that my expectations were appropriate. The aftercare was thoughtful and complete. I would recommend Dr Derby to anyone considering a procedure. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-12-14
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 11, 2016

Tummy Tuck with Liposuction for 36 yr old mommy - The staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center was kind, compassionate, and knowledgeable in their assessments and care. Dr. Derby did an excellent job of making me feel at ease while answering all my questions and addressing all of my concerns. They were upfront with all aspects of the surgery and managed my expectations. I am ecstatic regarding the outcome of the procedures. It turned out even better than I had hoped and anticipated. I would recommend this doctor as well as the facility if you are considering a procedure. - - The effects of four pregnancies all by C-section every two years through out my twenties left me with a very undesirable shape. I had tried kick boxing, cycling, hiking, and general laps on the treadmill to try to maintain my weight and regain some semblance of my pre-baby shape. Along with healthy eating and the sheer craziness of my life with four young children I was able to get my weight within 10 pounds of my pre-pregnancy weight each time and maintain that. For those of you good with math that means 10 extra pounds with each precious child. My weight wasn’t the only issue it was also the extreme extra skin that was left over from the surgeries. I had been randomly doing research on having a tummy tuck since my last child was born. I put it off longer than I needed to as well because I was worried that there was no way that they would clear me for surgery with the extra weight I maintained. This was not the case. While I would have managed, I am very glad that I also waited until my youngest was five before undergoing the surgery. I was still tempted and did (just a couple of times) find myself in situations where I had to pick him up before I was cleared to. I paid for it every time. Which brings me to my biggest piece of advise. Have a good support network setup and make sure you have time to completely shut down and do nothing for at least two weeks. I mistakenly thought that I would be up and about within three weeks. Yes, even with all the C-section experience. When preparing for surgery please make sure you do your research on the facility and doctor who will be performing the procedure. I went to three consultations before I decided. Although it wasn’t a tough decision once I met Dr. Derby and his staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center. They were very kind, sincere, and honest with their assessments and care. A qualified doctor with a caring staff will make all the difference in the world during your recovery. You will have questions (some embarrassing) during your recovery and before the surgery. It is essential that you can trust your doctor and their staff. I was very fortunate in that I found an excellent facility and doctor to perform the procedure.I was so excited, even more then nervous, for the surgery. I felt guilty which I have heard is common for mommies. I still do feel a bit of guilt but I give my heart and soul to my children this was something I needed to do to regain a piece of me I had lost along the way. Pajamas was all that was really necessary for the day of and day after the surgery. All the rest sat in the bag, never used. Then there was pain, and more pain, and a bit more pain oh and swelling, lots and lots of swelling. Make sure the nursing staff keeps up on your pain meds and just say no if they want to pull your catheter before you are ready. Do get up and walk when they tell you to…it will help later…or so I’ve been told. My husband was wonderful during my recovery and did almost everything for me. Walking consisted of making it to the fridge and back to the bed for most of the early days so plan on taking it pretty slow for a while.Every day the pain gets better…little by little…each day a little bit better until finally it subsides to the point where you don’t notice it every waking second. I was stitched particularly tight which meant that I was also stooped over for a very long while… (at least three weeks). I am approximately eight weeks post op and I only have phantom pains through my hips when I have over done it. My procedure included liposuction which made this surgery so much different than the C-sections because it felt like my whole core had been obliterated. I still feel like I am wrapped tightly especially around the back but this is subsiding too as time passes. The numbness through my stomach and back were surprising side effects that I hadn’t anticipated. I guess the feeling won’t completely return for up to a year. At this point the feeling is starting to come back but I still cannot feel my belly button area at all. The other surprising revelation was that with the tightening the pubic hair line moves up from where it was so be prepared to either get laser hair removal after the procedure or become really good at waxing. The bruising was also unbelievable in their size and color. These of course subside with time but they can be alarming when you first see them. All of these “side effects” are well worth the results which were just amazing. I still can’t believe it. I am just thrilled! I was honest with most but work about the procedure. Even those at work called me out on the differences…they were definitely noticeable and keep getting better with each passing week. I still have to be careful of not overdoing it or my back becomes very sore and for me I get pains in my hips. I also have to watch my food intake to make sure there is not too much salt because that makes the swelling even worse. I can’t eat much since the tightening which is great but it also means that I have to make sure I am eating enough protein. I preferred soup as a comfort food after the surgery but I found that resulted in me not eating enough. I haven’t started working out since we are so close to Christmas…thinking I’ll just start that as my New Year’s resolution. All in all, I have no regrets and I hope this rambling on will help those considering a tummy tuck procedure in making the best decision for themselves. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-10-28
Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Oct 11, 2016

Dr. Mobley has changed my life! I have lived 16 years hiding my stomach due to emergency cesarian. No matter how much weight I lost or toning I worked on for year didn't help the saggy skin that would hang over my scar. I hid my stomach with baggy shirts and always carried a large pure to hold over my stomach when we were out with friends. Bathing suits were only worn around my family. Dr. M performed and Abdominoplasty with Lipo. All I can say is why did I wait so long"!! He is amazing! The nurses and all the staff are so kind and caring. I never felt uncomfortable or embarrassed. Im so thankful I found a awesome surgeon and staff. Thank you all for all you do and your kind caring hearts. " More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-05-29
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  May 27, 2016

The Best of the Best! - Sarasota, FL - Skillful, professional, experienced, sincere and knowledgeable. - - After seeing the amazing results of (3) women I've known since 2003, I knew that Dr. Graham was the best plastic surgeon in Sarasota. I've been a patient of his since 2005. During this time, I've had a liposuction procedure, various "fill-ins" and most recently a "full necklift" which looks more like a mini-facelift. Not only does Dr. Graham have an artistic eye, but he's also an expert at producing a "natural look." He doesn't pull the skin too tight, and it's hard to tell that surgery has been performed. He has a fantastic reputation and deservedly so. Additionally, he's a very nice person who truly cares about his patients and the outcome of their procedures. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10225280
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 02, 2016

I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby could not have been better! From the first visit I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. I had a adominoplasty/tummy tuck & it is considered major surgery. I got the patient care & results I wanted from Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center. You should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I highly recommend Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, & artist! THANK YOU! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-04-01
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 29, 2016

A Real Game Changer - Sarasota, FL - “I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby, the nurses and the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center could not have been better!I was very hesitant to get any plastic surgery for one big reasons: Any surgery that is optional should be avoided - why take the risk! But after years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I started to consider a tummy tuck. I finally got the courage to schedule an appointment and I met with Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center.From the very first visit with Dr. Derby I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. He spent plenty of time with me answering all my questions and concerns, but most of all he listened to what I wanted, he did not tell me what I needed but offered what he could do to provide me with the desired results. He told me the truth about what the risks were and what was involved to get the results I wanted.We also discussed the added health benefits I would see when my weakened abdominal muscles are repaired. We both agreed this would be a real "Game Changer" for me. Not just my appearance but at the gym as well. I am 57 years old and having a stable core is critical to living an active life as we get older. Dr. Derby is extremely knowledgeable about his profession and you can tell he loves what he does!So…. I scheduled my abdominoplasty/tummy tuck and I am happy to say my results were more than I could have hoped for! I no longer hate to shop for clothes or need to dress to hide my flaws. In fact, I love to dress again! I can feel the changes to my core already and can't wait to get back to the gym!The support I am receiving after my surgery from Dr. Derby is amazing. At my follow up visits, I receive undivided and unhurried attention from him and the staff. The staff is very supportive and helpful. They understand my needs and have wonderful advice and insights for me during my recovery.Abdominoplasty/tummy tuck is a serious major surgery and you should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I got the results I wanted and I will have any other procedures done at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center and by Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, and artist! I highly recommend Dr. Derby I know you will love him too!” - - After years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I had a tummy tuck. My procedure lasted 6 hours because I had abdominal muscle and skin tightening along with liposuction, a new belly button, a hernia repair and I had drainage tubes inserted. Days and weeks after my surgery I questioned my judgment as to why I inflicted this kind of pain on myself! The recovery was painful in the beginning but once the drains came out I started feel like myself again. I am now 2 months’ post-surgery and I am so GLAD I had this procedure done. I am looking and feeling better and better every day! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-03-31
Review from C.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 29, 2016

"Wonderful Doctor, Wonderful Results!" - Sarasota, FL - “I absolutely feel my experience with Dr. Derby, the nurses and the staff at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center could not have been better!I was very hesitant to get any plastic surgery for one big reasons: Any surgery that is optional should be avoided - why take the risk! But after years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I started to consider a tummy tuck. I finally got the courage to schedule an appointment and I met with Dr. Derby at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center.From the very first visit with Dr. Derby I felt extremely comfortable with him. He is professional, caring and patient. He spent plenty of time with me answering all my questions and concerns, but most of all he listened to what I wanted, he did not tell me what I needed but offered what he could do to provide me with the desired results. He told me the truth about what the risks were and what was involved to get the results I wanted. Dr. Derby is extremely knowledgeable and you can tell he loves what he does.So…. I scheduled my abdominoplasty/tummy tuck and I am happy to say my results were more than I could have hoped for! I no longer hate to shop for clothes or need to dress to hide my flaws. In fact, I love to dress again!The support I am receiving after my surgery from Dr. Derby is amazing. At my follow up visits, I receive undivided and unhurried attention from him and the staff. The staff is very supportive and helpful. They understand my needs and have wonderful advice and insights for me during my recovery.Abdominoplasty/tummy tuck is a serious major surgery and you should not risk your looks or your life with the wrong surgeon! I got the results I wanted and I will have any other procedures done at Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center and by Dr. Derby because he is an excellent doctor, surgeon, and artist! I highly recommend Dr. Derby I know you will love him too!” - - After years of trying to get rid of the fat around my stomach and flanks, I had a tummy tuck. My procedure lasted 6 hours because I had abdominal muscle and skin tightening along with liposuction, a new belly button, a hernia repair and I had drainage tubes inserted. Days and weeks after my surgery I questioned my judgment as to why I inflicted this kind of pain on myself! The recovery was painful in the beginning but once the drains came out I started feel like myself again. I am now 2 months’ post-surgery and I am so GLAD I had this procedure done. I am looking and feeling better and better every day! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-10047609
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 19, 2016

Sarasota Plastic Surgery has the best reputation in town, and my experience there only proved that very fact. Dr. Engel performed my surgery, and he is absolutely amazing! He is very informative and gave me numerous options from which to choose regarding what was best for me. He is extremely knowledgeable and educated me so I could make the best decision for my surgery. He is a perfectionist, so I felt entirely comfortable leaving the decision of implant size in his hands. I could not be happier with my results!! Dr. Engel is a truly gifted surgeon. He does excellent Botox injections that you hardly feel. The staff is very competent and extremely caring. The P.A., Bridgette, does outstanding injections and made my lips look perfect while still being extremely natural in appearance. I am extremely dedicated to the practice due to their stellar reputation. I receive excellent service I every time I visit them, which is why I will continue to have procedures there. I would never consider going to any other plastic surgery practice because I have so much trust in Sarasota Plastic Surgery. They are absolutely fantastic!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-9898577
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 09, 2016

I had liposuction on my thighs, back,and abdomen. Dr. Derby is an excellent plastic surgeon. He did an amazing job on my liposuction and went above and beyond what I had expected. The office staff was very warm and welcoming. I plan on going back to Dr. Derby in the future for other procedures I want done. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-02-24
Review from T.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Feb 22, 2016

I'm a 46 Year Old Woman That Could Not Loose my Love Handles and Tummy - Sarasota, FL - Dr. Derby is a truly amazing plastic surgeon. I explained what I wanted done and he exceeded beyond what I asked for. He did a wonderful job and I would refer him to anyone who is looking for a job well done. The staff treated me with kindness and took time to listen to me without judgement. Sarasota Plastics of Satasota is #1 More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2016-08-10
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Aug 08, 2016

74 Years Old and Could Not Get Rid of Waist and Abdominal Fat - Sarasota, FL - Dr. Derby is absolutely fabulous! He was very thorough about my options. He listened to my concerns and addressed them very caringly. He is also very courteous, never condescending. I cannot recommend him enough. Dr. Derby is a real sweetheart in addition to being a gifted plastic surgeon. At my age of 74, I was a bit hesitant but Dr. Derby made me feel totally at ease. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-03
Review from K.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 29, 2015

45 Year Old Needing a Little TLC - Sarasota, FL - I loved my doctor. He was so kind and personal. He listen to what I wanted to accomplish. And then he gave his professional opinion and walked me through what would happen. I felt secure in his hands. I think my biggest worry was pain. He made sure that I was comfortable. I just had my yearly GYN appointment and my doctor was impressed with my scars. She asked for his name. She even said that I had a really cute belly button. Dr Engel is truly amazing at what he does. I am impressed with my body and so so happy I did it. I am so grateful for his staff as well. They were just a phone call away before and after the surgery with answers to anything that was of a concern to me. The nurses are so sweet and kind. Every person that I met at Dr Engels office really loves what they do because of how they all worked as a team for my benefit. I could go on and on but I wont. I loved my experience and I love my new body!!!!!!! - - I just wanted a flat stomach. After three kids my stomach sat in my lap. I wanted so bad to look good again. Pros are you feel better about yourself number one, and you get to buy new clothes because everything is to big now. The only con would be just laying low for a few weeks. Had to hire a little help. More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4422783
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Vitals  |  Jan 11, 2015

I had liposuction of my hips, chin and fat transfer to cheeks and eyes. More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-03
Review from L.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 08, 2014

37 Year Old/Life Changing Surgery - Sarasota, FL - Dr. Engel was very thorough in the eduction of my elected procedures, as was his staff. I believe and felt that Dr. Engel truly understood my concerns and desired results. During my consultation, I felt very comfortable and was able to relax knowing that I had chosen the best board certified plastic surgeon to address my concerns and meet my cosmetic desires. The day of surgery my nerves quickly went into overload once I enter the facility. Then I was greeted by the wonderful surgical staff followed by Dr. Engel. I was finally ready to undergo surgery thanks to Dr. Engel's ability to ease my worries and make me laugh. I remember Dr. Engel speaking to me prior to my discharge, which I believe put my "after surgery" nerves at ease. The following day I met with Dr. Engel and his staff. At this appointment, I was again reassured that I had made the appropriate surgical and surgeon decisions. Again, THANK YOU Dr. Engel!! - - I have always been up and down with my weight most of my teenage/adult life. I gained the majority of my weight through difficult pregnancies. With one successful pregnancy, I gave birth to my beautiful daughter (17 years ago). Through the years she became an avid runner and I had the desire to be able to run 5k's/marathon's with her. Over the past five years that desire lead me to dropping 50+ pounds. I was very happy and excited by the weight loss. However, I was left with excess skin, mostly in my abdominal area, which left me feeling very depressed and not so excited to run or workout. I decided to seek consultation for a tummy tuck, breast reduction/lift and liposuction. After much research, I decided to consult with Dr. Engel. As the appointment neared, I became very nervous and wasn't so sure I would keep the appointment. Well, the day came and I kept the appointment. After a very thorough consultation and exam with Dr. Engel and his staff, I was more than excited to follow through with surgery. Three weeks later I underwent surgery for a tummy tuck, breast reduction/lift with fat grafting (to achieve breast fullness, I opted not to have implants) and liposuction of thighs/abdomen. The day after surgery, I was immediately satisfied and knew that I had made the right decision with the right surgeon. I am now 8 weeks postoperative and couldn't be enjoying my renewed life more. This surgery has given me back apart of myself that I thought I had lost forever....the ability to look in the mirror and smile, not cry! I am now in the process of training to run my first 5k with my daughter this October! Thank you Dr. Engel!!! More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4407185
Review from J.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 17, 2014

From start to finish my experience could not have been better. After several consults, I chose Dr. Engle to perform my mommy makeover, which included revisions of previous procedures. I will have to say that the hour and a half drive to and from consults, surgery, and follow ups, was well worth worth it! The results were all that I had hoped for and more. Would highly recommend Dr. Engle and his team based on quality of care and outcome! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-03
Review from E.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Nov 06, 2013

Tummy Tuck W/lipo to Hips and Thighs - Sarasota, FL - Dr Engel was very honest and upfront about the results I should expect. He was very personable and professional, making myself and my husband very comfortable right from the start. The results definitely exceeded my expectations! I am very grateful to have had such a skilled Doctor. He is an asset to his field. - - I had a large sack in front from 3 C-sections and weight gain. I found it difficult to do so many things because this sack was always in the way. I was very scared to go through the procedure, but Dr. Engel and his staff were excellent in every way! They were very thorough and available to answer my questions. All instructions were written out and provided ahead of time, which allowed me and my family to be prepared. Dr Engel did a fantastic job! I am amazed at how my abdomen looks! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-08
Review from A.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Sep 14, 2013

Fit Athletic Girl Wanting to Sculpt....tried Everything ...last Resort Lipo - Sarasota, FL - Great bed side manner. very patient and understanding. Felt comfortable with him from day one. He always made time to answer my questions,and was very understanding when i had to reschedule my appointment. - - I have always been fit active,watched what i ate,but the thickness in my upper thighs and lower abdomen always bothered me and would not go away unless i starved myself. Finally saved up and decided to get lipo. Found Dr Mobley after allot of research . Day ONE of surgery, everyone at the doctors office have been so nice,woke up so nauseous ,thank god the nurses had this aromatherapy essential oil sniffer which alleviated the nausea. All i can say i got home and i didnt need to take any pain meds. Day one down.... only reason i gave a "not sure' review is bc so far nothing looks different...they say its normal ?? More

5.0
ReviewTracker-4461187
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 08, 2011

Caring, compassionate, knowledgeable doctor that doesn't treat you like a number. He really cares and takes the time to help you. The office staff is incredible! Thank you, Dr. Engel! More

5.0
ReviewScraper-2015-09-03
Review from I.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Mar 24, 2011

Scared, Nervous, and Anxious - Sarasota, FL - He has been very personable and listens to what you want/need. He takes his time and is a perfectionist. My stomach looks amazing! - - I'm 40 and after 3 kids: 20, 18, and 16, my stomach looks saggy and droopy. I have deep stretch marks which creates this awful amount of skin everywhere. I am scheduled to get my TT w/ lipo at the end of April. I am over joyed and excited!!!!! But at the same time I am dreading the recovery. Is this going to be worth it??????? More

5.0
Review from S.E.  |  Source: Office Visit  |  Jul 21, 2016

Dear Amy, Thank you and thank you for pairing me with Dr. Derby. First I would like to apologize to you and your office staff for being late. Your office staff blew me away with their professionalism, kindness, thoughtfulness, and accommodation. You guys didn't make it noticeable that I was late and I appreciate that. Lisa is a true example of what nursing profession is all about kind and compassionate. Thank you so so much. Dr. Derby is so kind and his kindness and gentleness definitely helped my fear and anxiety about the procedures. He didn't rush me even though I came In late. I felt so bad that he spent so much time with me. But guess what... I found the surgeon that I was looking for. I know that I will be very happy with my result. I knew he was the one the minute he walked in the room. I hope he didn't get to far behind schedule. I will be I touch with your scheduler soon. Thanks again Amy. More

4.8
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 09, 2017

I performed a bunch of research on possible doctors for my breast fat transfer. Not all plastic surgeons perform this procedure, and I wanted to make sure I had a well-trained, caring, and highly rated board certified plastic surgeon. I researched doctors from the Tampa area to Bradenton/Sarasota down to the Fort Myers and Naples area. I was impressed with Dr. Engel's education, training at the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, and glowing patient reviews. I could not find one negative review (and believe me, I looked!) I concluded that he was either an exceptional doctor or just good at covering his tracks. I'm pleased to report that Dr. Engel is in fact an excellent doctor!I went to a couple consultations and decided on Dr. Engel because he matched my criteria above as well as being patient, smart, and compassionate. Although he looked good on paper, I thoroughly questioned him to make sure he knew his stuff. He was surprised that I cared so much about the details and told me not to worry because he’s very experienced and has even taught other doctors about fat transfer. Fortunately, he still took the time to answer my long list of questions (and he answered them right!) He made me feel like he would spend as much time with me as I needed.Even though I'm often nervous at doctor appointments and shy about about being naked, Dr. Engel is very considerate and tries to make me feel comfortable and relaxed. I liked his compliments and reassuring words. He is charming, has a good sense of humor and overall great personality.When he came in before surgery, he was in a really good mood and wanted to make me feel safe and comfortable. He could tell I was getting extremely nervous, so he held my hands and reassured me he would take care of me. He reiterated that he would treat me as well as if I was his wife (he said that in our consultations too, and he truly seems genuine when he says it). He calmed my nerves, and the surgery indeed went well. My recovery has been much easier than expected too!Before surgery, Dr. Engel generously offered to improve a couple more areas of my body (free of charge!) He truly cared about giving me the best result possible, no matter if it took him more time and effort. I estimate he performed at least $1000 (probably much more) of complimentary work for me, considering the extra areas of liposuction and additional time spent. He's similar to me in that he wants to do the best job that he can do with whatever he does (perfectionist quality that I like).Also, he was understanding that I would have a hard time trusting him. He was extra patient with me, and I'm thankful that he took his time in surgery in order to deliver the best results possible. He worked an extra 45 minutes on top of our scheduled 3 hour surgery.At our follow-up, he emphasized how much he cared about me as a patient when he said that he was thinking about me all weekend, hoping that I was recovering well. During our recent appointments, he has been super involved and attentive to ensure I have a successful recovery. Overall it is nice that he just wants me to look as best as I possibly can.From my research, I also found him to be a family man and one that gives back to his community. I feel secure not only being in the hands of an excellent doctor but also a good person. I'm looking to use Dr. Engel for beauty treatments in the future, and I would highly recommend him to others! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from B.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Apr 20, 2017

30s Mom Hoping for Thinner Thighs and Bigger Boobs! - I performed a bunch of research on potential doctors for my breast fat transfer. Not all plastic surgeons perform this type of procedure, and I wanted to make sure I had a well-trained, caring, and highly rated board certified plastic surgeon. I researched doctors from the Tampa area down to Naples. I was impressed with Dr. Engel's education, training at the prestigious Cleveland Clinic, and glowing patient reviews. I went to a couple consultations and decided on Dr. Engel because he matched my criteria above as well as being smart, patient, and compassionate. Even though he looked good on paper, I still thoroughly questioned him to make sure he knew his stuff. He was surprised that I cared so much about the details, and he told me not to worry because he's very experienced and has even taught other doctors about fat transfer. Fortunately, he still took the time to answer my long list of questions. Dr. Engel made me feel like he would spend as much time with me as I needed. I'm often nervous at doctor appointments and shy about about being naked, but thankfully Dr. Engel is considerate and makes me feel comfortable. I liked his reassuring words. He is charming, personable, and has a good sense of humor. Before surgery, Dr. Engel generously offered to improve a couple more areas of my body. He truly cared about giving me the best result possible, no matter if it took him more time and effort. I estimate he performed at least $1000 (probably more) of complimentary work for me. He's similar to me in that he wants to do the best job possible (perfectionist quality that I like). I was actually hesitant at first to agree to the extra work because it was unexpected. But then Dr. Engel said, "I'm just going to make you more pretty." So I said yes. How can I argue with my expert plastic surgeon who wants to go above and beyond, doing bonus work just to make me "more pretty?" He must take pride in his work. When Dr. Engel came in before surgery, he was in a really good mood and wanted to make feel at ease. He could tell I was getting extremely nervous, so he held my hands and reassured me he would take care of me. He reiterated that he would treat me as well as if I was his wife (he said that in our consultations too, and he truly seems genuine when he says it). He calmed my nerves, and the surgery indeed went well. My recovery has been much easier than expected too! Something that I liked about the day of surgery is when Dr. Engel said I was one of his most educated patients during pre-op (smart girls rule). At our follow-up, he emphasized how much he cared about me when he said that he was thinking about me all weekend, hoping that I was recovering well. I ended up rating this procedure as "worth it" because I think I got what I paid for... but in hindsight, there was a mistake of not having additional fat harvested. I liked my body improvements overall, but there wasn’t enough fat from just my stomach and thighs to be able to go up a full cup and reach my goal. I believe I should have been advised to have lipo on more areas. Also, I am bothered by some unevenness from liposuction, however, I was informed it can be a side effect. In spite of that, I have been satisfied by Dr. Engel overall and plan to see him for additional treatments in the future. From my research, I found Dr. Engel to be a family man and one that gives back to his community. I feel secure not only being in the hands of an excellent doctor but also a good person. For a very detailed account of my breast fat transfer experience, check out my realself procedure review. More

4.0
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RealPatientRatings  |  Aug 16, 2015

Still in the healing process and cannot give a truthful answer until then. More

Patient Story
ReviewScraper-2016-12-10
Review from J.  |  Source: RealSelf  |  Dec 08, 2016

54 year old man in need belly fat removal. - Successful Lipo for 54 year old man. Typical belly and flank weight gain as we age--especially certain body types for men. Had 41 inch measurement around my stomach and 6 weeks out I am at 39 inches--I went in today for my before and after photos--this is where you can tell how much this procedure was worth it!! Dr. Brian Derby sweet gentle bedside--very honest--guided me thru while answering all my questions--A+ experience!! More

The board-certified plastic surgeons of Sarasota Plastic Surgery Center, Dr. Braun Graham, Dr. David Mobley, Dr. Scott Engel, and Dr. Brian Derby, offer a comprehensive range of cosmetic plastic surgery procedures. All information subject to change. Images may contain models. Individual results may vary. Individual results are not guaranteed.